The Magus by John Fowles (Suntup Editions)

This is a preorder and no prepayment is necessary to reserve your copy. Please review the Preorder FAQ if you’re not familiar with our process. Thank you!

PUBLISHER:  Suntup Editions
EDITION: Artist Edition (signed by Marc Burckhardt)
PRICE: $175
STATUS: Forthcoming in summer 2023

Widely considered John Fowles’s masterpiece, The Magus is a masterwork of contemporary literature. By turns disturbing, thrilling and seductive, the novel is a spellbinding exploration of the complexities of the human mind.

When a young Englishman, Nicholas Urfe, accepts a teaching post on a remote Greek island and strikes up a friendship with a reclusive millionaire, he soon finds himself a pawn in the trickster’s deadly game of violence, seduction and betrayal. As Nicholas is drawn deeper into the psychological traps, he finds it increasingly difficult to distinguish past from present, or fantasy from reality. A work rich in symbols, conundrums, and labyrinthine twists, The Magusendures as the most enigmatic and magical novel in the Fowles canon.

The Magus was the first novel John Fowles wrote, although it was his third to be published, following The Collector (1963) and The Artistos (1964). He began writing it in the 1950s under the working title The Godgame, and based the story partly on his own experiences on the Greek island of Spetses, where he taught English for two years at the Anargyrios School. Fowles worked on The Magus for twelve years before its publication in 1965. Despite gaining enormous critical and commercial success, he continued to rework it, publishing a final revision in 1977.

Today, the novel is considered a modern classic, included in Modern Library’s list of 100 Best 20th Century Novels, and the BBC’s The Big Read survey of the top 200 best loved novels.


  • 6” x 9” trim size.
  • 800 Pages.
  • Limited to 750 copies.
  • Signed by Marc Burckhardt.
  • Quarter cloth binding with European bookcloth covering the spine, and Cot-Linen cloth over the boards.
  • Foreword by the author, originally published in the 1977 revised edition.
  • A 1994 bonus essay by the author.
  • Transcript from the author’s October 23, 1997 appearance on the BBC’s The Lively Arts.
  • New exclusive introduction by Christopher Priest.
  • New exclusive afterword by Eileen Warburton.
  • Six full color illustrations by Marc Burckhardt.
  • Dust jacket illustrated by Marc Burckhardt (the only edition featuring this illustrated dust jacket). The jacket is double-sided, featuring the first edition dust jacket illustration by Tom Adams on the reverse.
  • Set in Monotype Digital Fournier.
  • Printed offset on archival Cougar Natural paper.
  • Housed in a slipcase covered in Cot-Linen.
  • Bookmark with all pre-orders.

Published editions may differ slightly from mockups and prototype designs.
Illustrations © 2022 by Marc Burckhardt.